spacer.png, 0 kB

Places to stay



Suggested Tours

spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
Foreign Champs arrive for Puerto Princesa Asian Motocross Saturday PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 19 February 2008

Foreign champion riders are expected to arrive today in time for the biggest and much awaited 2008 Motocross Masters of Asia - Puerto Princesa International Motocross Grand Prix set February 22-24 at the Sta. Monica International Racetrack in Puerto Princesa City.

It’s the biggest yet in five years considering 24 international riders including six junior champions will be competing in this event organized by the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association (NAMSSA) and sponsored by the City of Puerto Princesa, Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Olympic Committee,  Bridgestone, Triumph Mktg, Oakley and Castrol.

The excitement and the intense action of the event will be a big treat for the constituents of Puerto Princesa City which will be celebrating its month-long Foundation anniversary.

“The people of Puerto Princesa City are looking forward to witnessing this exciting event.  Everything is ready, and preparations were accomplished according to plans to ensure the bigger success of the event,” said Puerto Princesa City Mayor Edward Solon Hagedorn, who’s also expecting a bigger crowd this year.

This year’s title quest will be a wide-open race with the absence of last year’s Thai Asian 125 Seniors champ Arnon Theplib and Asian Juniors 85 champ Arongkot Pinpon.

Leading the foreign charges are Denny Orlando, Aldi Lazaroni and former junior champ Alexander Wiguna who will be spearheading the eight-man Indonesian Team together with Dede Mulyadi, Iwan Hermawan, Harry Galaxi, 10-year-old lady champ Anastasia Kirana and junior champ Farhan H. Fahrodji.

Orlando finished fifth in last year’s race while Lazaroni ended sixth. Fahrodji, on the other hand, is tagged as the top favorite in the Asian Junior 85 class with his second overall finish last season.

Erdenbileg Khaliunbold, who wound up seventh in Puerto Princesa City and 10th overall last season, will banner Mongolia’s title quest while Iran is pinning its hopes on Hossein Shahriari, Amir Sabeti Far and Mojtaba Karimzadeh.

Thailand hopes to duplicate last year’s feat as it fields Trakarn Nuntaphat in the Asian 125 division and Duangtiva Binkamalee in the Asian Junior 85 class while Guam will be headed by Fil-Am lady rider Jaimie Plagman, Junior 85 bet Paul Errol Angoco and Veterans class rider Stanley Yasuhiro .

Not to be outdone are Japanese bet Takeshi Tabuchi who ended fourth overall last season and lone Chinese bet Su Wenmin.

Asides from NAMSSA first leg winner at Fast Track Circuit Taguig Kenneth San Andres, the Philippines will be backed up by top Cebuano rider Jon Eleazar Adlawan who’s eyeing a better finish this year after finishing ninth in Puerto Princesa and ninth overall in last season.

The Philippines also expects strong chances in the Asian Junior 85 class behind top young riders Patrick North Orbe up against Indonesian Fahrodji.

Also here are Star and ESPN Sports UK Crew Mark Dunn and Christian Blockley of Greenlight Productions who will be beaming the said event to over 600 million household worldwide

Up for grabs is the Mayor Edward S. Hagedorn Cup -- a sterling silver trophy coming from the city’s chief executive and his constituents. For details on the FIM Motocross Masters of Asia, please email This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it or call 0917-8992363.

spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB